Actress Yvette Wilson Dies at 48

Yvette Wilson (born March 6, 1964 – June 15, 2012, in Los Angeles, California) was an American comedian and actress. She is best known for her role as Andell Wilkerson on the UPN sitcom Moesha and its spinoff The Parkers. She has appeared on many comedy films such as House Party 2, House Party 3, Friday, and on Russell Simmons’ Def Comedy Jam.

On June 15, 2012, Yvette lost her battle to cervical cancer and died.

I am sadden by her passing I remember writing on her wall that my family would pray for her and that she will beat this. I can say she is no longer suffering and that god needed her more. May she rest in peace we will miss her dearly….I send my condolences to her family,friends and fans…

Update:

Wilson’s friend Jeffrey Pittle, who organized a fund to help with her medical bills, confirmed her death to The Times. “She was a fighter to the end, and her talent, humor and amazing friendship will be sorely missed,” he wrote on the fund’s website. “She will live on through her awesome body of work.”

Wilson’s friends and former co-stars remembered her on Twitter. Shar Jackson, who also appeared on “Moesha,” wrote Thursday: “I wanna thank all my tweeties for their prayers but god has chosen to take my sister Yvette home…”

Jamie Foxx wrote: “God bless u Yvette wilson. Tears in my eyes. Keep God laughing.”

After a start in stand-up comedy, Wilson’s first acting roles came in the 1993 ABC sitcom “Thea” and in the films “House Party 3,” “Friday” and “Poetic Justice.”

She appeared with R&B singer Brandy on “Moesha,” a 1996 UPN sitcom, for five seasons before leaving to star in “The Parkers,” where she worked for an another five seasons.

She also made appearances on HBO’s “Def Comedy Jam.” Send your condolenses and hugs here and you also still can donate to her family… http://www.giveforward.com/supportyvettewilson

9 Comments

  1. I would like to send my condolences to her family. I know what they are going through on every end of the spectrum. I”ve lost family members to cancer, and I myself had a deadly cancer. God held me,and rocked my family. We thank him that I am still here. Yvette, may you rest in peace, and have not to suffer and worry no more. Amen.

  2. yvette wilson play as andell really going to be miss. because i like her smile and she keep people laugh. she was my favorite actress. r.i.p yvette wilson. you in better place no more suffering.

Leave a Reply

